About SE Compact

Web Analytics

The Southeast Compact is an agreement that was originally among eight member states—Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia—to share responsibility for managing the region’s commercial low-level radioactive waste (LLRW). The number of states in the Compact changed to six with the withdrawal of South Carolina in 1995 and North Carolina in 1999.

The Southeast Compact Commission oversees administration of the Compact agreement. Two commissioners and two alternate commissioners are appointed from each member state. The Commission is required to meet twice each year. All Commission meetings are open to the public.


To ensure that adequate, reliable, and appropriate services are available, now and in the foreseeable future, such that low-level radioactive waste generated in the Southeast Region can be safely managed in an efficient, equitable, economical, and environmentally responsible manner in order that each party state may meet its responsibility for providing for the availability of capacity either within or outside the State for disposal of low-level radioactive waste generated within its borders (Article 1, PL 99-240).

For more information contact:

Ted Buckner
Southeast Compact Commission
P.O. Box 5427
Cary, NC 27512